Hurrah! First time in a while I’ve woken up without a headache and with only a small amount of neck pain! And what miracle caused this? Well, it’s really simple – pillows. I could kick myself for not thinking of it sooner! I got a new mattress a while ago, which has improved the amount of back pain in the morning a fair bit. I have slept on my old mattress for far too many years, and I always used one pillow. Last night it suddenly struck me that since my new mattress is much firmer it might be the pillow aggravating my neck. I started to think of the angles and since my shoulder doesn’t sink into the mattress like it did, my neck must have been bending for my head to be on the single pillow. Well that’s my theory. Last night I used two pillows and although it felt really weird at first, I slept pretty well, only getting up once and when I woke I didn’t have a massive headache and sore neck/shoulder etc. It’s not perfect, still sore, but it’s so much better and easier to get on with life. Wish I’d thought of it sooner! Fingers crossed I’ve turned a corner here and life will get a little easier while I wait for the appointment with the consultant.

Oh and last night we decided to continue the mindfulness sessions after the 6 we already booked. Yay! 🙂

Leave a Reply

